Are We Really Only Given What We Can Handle?

Hello Darkness, My Old Friend

Considering that things were beginning to snowball out of control, I immediately did what I always did when life threw me into crisis mode: I took a Xanax. Then I phoned everyone I could think of who I knew could offer me good advice. In the matter of a few hours, with the help of my “team of advisors,” we came to the conclusion that my husband was planning to file for divorce and had consulted with an attorney (or several). I was numb with shock and disbelief. Granted things weren’t great in our marriage, but I just assumed we’d continue on down this path ad nauseum.

Because I had the presence of mind to get a copy of the final transaction of our joint account from the bank, I saw that Dick had withdrawn $5000 (the amount for an attorney’s retainer fee) on one day and then closed out the account a few days later. It didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out  that my spouse was planning to make a major  lifestyle change.   What kind of change  was the million-dollar question. 

At this point I’d like to take a moment to acknowledge and thank my guardian angel  for screaming in my head and not-so-subtly guiding me to take action at the bank. At the time I wasn’t getting it. However, hindsight is always 20/20. It was exactly what I needed at exactly the right moment. It’s amazing how things have a way of working out for the greater good.

Now also seems like an ideal time to share a little bit about what my life in general was like. To put it mildly, 2009 wasn’t my year. For that matter, 2008, 2007 or 2006 weren’t anything to write home about either. My father passed away on September 14, 2008. He lived to the  ripe old age of 94. Even though he enjoyed a long, and for the most part, a very good life, the last few years were quite traumatic, painful and sad. Being “Daddy’s Little Girl,” I had an extremely difficult time watching the man who I loved with all of my heart slowly deteriorate and slip away succumbing to the ravaging effects of Alzheimer’s. To add insult to injury, my mom couldn’t deal with losing her husband, best friend and soul mate. In fact, while my husband was busy at the bank and at the lawyer’s office, my mom was in the hospital. Dick, most likely figured I was too engrossed with dealing with my family crisis that I wouldn’t have a clue what he was up to and wouldn’t be in any frame of mind to deal with what was about to come down.

It’s mind-boggling to think that someone who was supposed to have your back would turn around and stab you in it instead.

Like I said…2009 was not turning out to be my year.

 

Leave a Reply

