This Is My Story… and I’m Sticking To It!

A Little Background:

Divorce Destroys…Humor Heals! is my journey through my unhappy, abusive marriage,  my 18-month-long divorce (or as I affectionately like to refer to it as…My Long, Drawn-Out, Ugly, Expensive Jewish Divorce…  Now wouldn’t that make a catchy title for a block-buster movie!) and my life today as a single, middle-aged woman trying to figure out what the heck happened, how I wound up where I am and where all of this is leading me.

Why Am I Writing This:

I know I am not alone. By sharing my story and how I got through it, I hope to reach others who are currently living through this nightmare. There is hope. As cliché as this sounds, if I could get out and start over, so can you. However, it does take a village. Let me be your tribal leader.

What got me through the toughest times and what helps me cope today was and is finding the humor in the situation. Believe me, on several occasions, that involved digging very deep-think “Journey to the Center of the Earth Deep”. But, trust me, if you look hard enough, the comedy in the tragedy is really there.  I like to believe this is the Universe’s compensation for going through Hell: laughing over the un-laughable and finding humor in the humorless. There is  power in laughing in the face of adversity. If you can do it, no matter whatever it is that you are facing, you will find a new perspective and a new way of dealing with the situation. That leads to hope. Hope leads to taking action. Taking action leads to new beginnings.

As I said earlier, this is my story. It’s not “His” story, nor is it my children’s stories. They have their own versions of what transpired.  After my divorce I took back my maiden name. Everyone else who appears in this blog have been given  new monikers. Going forward, my ex will be named “Dick”-because I like to call em as I see em.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

